Although Gmail is the email service electronic most famous in the world, most users do not know about all the functions that its creators have implemented. For example, one of the most interesting options can be seen before sending a message and it draws attention because it has the shape of a small padlock. What is it for? We’ll tell you.
As detailed by Unocero, a portal specialized in technology, when Gmail users press the lock icon they will be able to enable the confidential mode that offers the possibility of sending messages that self-destruct, that is, that are automatically deleted, after a brief period of time that is established by the sender.
YOU CAN SEE: Gmail: know the differences between the CC and BCC functions when sending an email
According to the publication, the recipient mode of Gmail is available to all users, regardless of whether they use the platform from a computer, phone or tablet. Also, highlight that the sender can add a password, so that the recipient can only see the message if he previously inserts it.
YOU CAN SEE: Gmail: how to turn an email into a link and share it easily?
How do I use Gmail Confidential Mode?
1. Sign in to Gmail from any device. In case you do it from an Androd or iPhone, make sure that the application is updated.
2. Press the button “Write” and start typing the message.
3. Before sending, press the lock icon and wait a few seconds.
4. A small window will appear, telling you when this message will expire.
5. You can choose after one day, one week, one month, three months or five years.
6. Additionally, you can choose to open with a password or not.
7. That would be it. It is worth noting that this Gmail email cannot be forwarded, downloaded, printed or copied.
YOU CAN SEE: Gmail: how to log out of your email remotely?
Gmail: so you can know if they read the email you sent
If you send emails frequently through Gmail and would like to check that the other person has already reviewed them, there are a number of simple methods that will allow you to easily find out this information.
Google’s email service has a native tool that lets you know if the recipient has read the email you’ve sent. You will find the reading notifications of your messages in your inbox.